Two Birds… One Audible Stone

On more than one occasion, I’ve shared that I begin each day by reading Seth Godin’s Blog.  The topics are so well written that they appeal to a wide range of readers.  Even though the posts are not necessarily about education, I find many connections to the world of leadership and learning.  One of his most recent ones, Can An Audiobook Change Your Life?  planted the seed for this blog.  

About 6 years ago, a friend at the time lent me a copy of “The Life of Pi” on CD.  It was one of those “must read” books that everyone else seemed to know about.  So each morning, I would strap my CD player to my waist and begin my morning walk.  I became so intrigued with the book that on many days I would walk at night too.  I can vividly recall listening to the final chapter as I sat on my back deck, not wanting to turn it off but my legs were aching from so much walking I couldn’t take another step.  The power of the audiobook had hit me. 

Pi

I then turned to Gladwell’s,  The Outliers and Blink, as my walking CDs . In my mind I was killing two birds with one stone ~ fitness and fascinating facts. 

During the summer that I was taking my SOQP course, we needed to read a rather lengthy book on Emotional Intelligence.  In an effort to be more efficient with my time, I purchased the audiobook and listened to it as I drove back and forth for my course.  Again, killing two birds with one stone ~ driving and digesting  information.

In an effort to broaden my audiobook palate, I started to listen to novels and then whole series.  Some of my favourites are David Baldacci’s The Camel Club Series and James Patterson’s, The Women’s Murder Club. I can’t tell you exactly how many novels that I’ve listened to in the last 6 years, but I can still vividly recall so many of the characters, the intertwining plots and the unpredictable endings.   Again killing two birds with one stone ~ expanding my tastes and enjoyment

camel club

In the last 6 years, I’ve traded my bulky CD player for an iPod Shuffle,   listened to, more than I can recall, audiobooks  and I’m now downloading both professional and personal books directly to my iPhone.  I rarely turn on the car radio and find myself purposefully taking the long way home, just to listen to the final words in a chapter.    I couldn’t agree more with Seth when he challenges his readers to “just try it”.

Are you an audiobook listener?  Do you have any great recommendations?

 Come write with me…….

One thought on “Two Birds… One Audible Stone

  1. Hello Sue, I really enjoyed this blog. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to put down a great book to shuffle off to hockey, soccer, classes, etc. I have recently picked up a new book, An Optimist’s Tour of the Future. After reading your blog I think I will download the audio and give it a try! Thanks for the suggestion.
    Marie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *