Does Bolding counter the Blah, Blahs?

6-9-2015 8-24-19 AM One of my favourite authors and bloggers is Seth Godin. It is a rare occasion when I don’t start  my day by reading his blog and then continue to make connections throughout the remainder of  my day to my morning “nudge”.  I admire his brevity and the way in which his topics (although  not specifically written for education) have many applications to educational leadership. I’ve  also enjoyed his books, Linchpin and Poke the Box and used examples from them in my  everyday work.  If you aren’t a follower of Seth’s, you may want to add him to your list!

Seth Godin’s Post ~ Blah, Blah, Blah

http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2015/06/blah-blah-blah.html

My Comments:

No writer wants to be known as boring or banal, nor do we want our words to go unnoticed or worse, ignored. You’ve challenged us to say something unexpected in order to push not only our thinking but the thinking of our readers.  I wonder sometimes, though, if writers feel that by bolding or adding colour to their font that the message will be heard more effectively.  My first administrative partner shared an important lesson that to this day I’ve tried to follow.  Her theory was that by bolding/colouring messages you were actually “belittling” your readers and assuming that they cannot discern on their own what is important within your message.  You are training your readers to count on you for the important stuff.  I like your suggestion better ~ effectively craft your message so that it creates the conditions for readers to read something unexpected, something that makes us think and something that is undeniable personal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *